Put Down the Duckie

May 7, 2011 – I never watched Sesame Street as a child, but I treasure the moments I shared watching it with my son when he was a toddler.

Sesame Street was never better than it was during those years. It was the mid 80s and we sang along to such classics and C is for Cookie, The Ladybug Picnic and the Peanut Butter and Jelly song, sung tenor style to the tune of Pomp and Circumstance.

But the best songs were the Muppet inspired music videos that imitated Cyndi Lauper’s Girls Just Wanna Have Fun with Kids Just Love to Brush, the Beatles’ Let it Be with Letter B, and Billy Idol’s Rebel Yell with Rebel L. The creative geniuses behind these music videos stole the heart of every parent who watched with their kids.

Thanks to YouTube.com, these oldies but goodies are still available to view. Below are my two favorites, the blues inspired Put Down the Duckie and Springsteen inspired Born to Add.

7 thoughts on “Put Down the Duckie

  1. I’m trying to find the Peanut Butter and Jelly song (sung to Pomp and Circumstance) but can’t find it anywhere. If you come across it please send me the link. Thanks!

  2. I have spent the better part of the last three days trying to find the lyrics for Peanut Butter and Jelly (to the tune of Pomp and Circumstance). I have the first two lines “Peanut butter and jelly, milk, countryfresh eggs” and the last two lines “Fresh creamery butter, and blueberry pie. Fresh creamery butter, and blueberry pie” – but nobody can remember the middle part, and I have spent hours and hours, and my friends and relatives have spent hours looking for them. Please, please, if you know them – send them here. Thank you.

    • Wow, I wish I could remember for you. I know the line is …. something, something and spaghetti, but I don’t remember what the first two foods are. Sorry about that.

      That songs brings back so many memories. I hope you can find the rest of the lyrics.

Leave a Reply

