A songwriter’s journey

November 20, 2010 – I just finished reading the fabulous Girls Like Us, Sheila Weller’s triple biography about Carole King, Joni Mitchell and Carly Simon.

Although I’m not a big Carole King fan, only skimming through those chapters, Joni and Carly are among my favorites, and I devoured every word written about them. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed their songs through the years, and will listen with a new respect now that I understand the stories behind them.

With more than 500 pages, this nonfiction book is captivating enough to read like a juicy beach novel. I hated reaching the end it because I wanted it to last longer.

Still making music after 40 plus years, today’s female recording artists pale in comparison to these powerhouses.

2 thoughts on “A songwriter’s journey

  1. Just listened to these 2 videos – wow – they still have it and how! Can’t wait to read the book you recommended – love all 3 of these artists!

Leave a Reply

