“We all shine on…”

December 8, 2010 – This week has its share of sad anniversaries.

It’s hard to believe, but it was 30 years ago today John Lennon was shot and killed outside his apartment building in New York City. And if you’re old enough to remember it, you probably will never forget where you were when you heard about his death. For many, it was from Howard Cosell when he announced the news during a Monday night football game. For me, it was the next morning when my alarm went off and I awoke to the sound of the Beatles singing Norwegian Wood.

How appropriate, I remember thinking. You see, December 9, 1980 was my 21st birthday, and as an avid Beatle fan, I believed that in some cosmic way the radio station sent that song out to me. It wasn’t until I heard the DJ’s voice a few moments later that I knew the sad truth.

Lennon was an incredible talent and for his fans his legacy is the music he left behind, both as a Beatle and a solo artist. Here is my favorite song from solo John. The lyrics are incredible and appropriate, especially for today.

One thought on ““We all shine on…”

Leave a Reply

