Movie review: True Grit lives up to its name and the critics praise

January 8, 2011 – Last year was terrible for this movie fan.

Not because of the selection of films released, but because I hardly made it to the theater. Those who know me well might consider that shocking, especially since I’ve been known to see two or even three movies in one day.

To start 2011 off right, we went to a matinee of True Grit yesterday. While my movie mate didn’t care for the film because he doesn’t think enough happened, I was plenty amused. There isn’t a Coen brother’s movie I dislike, though, and it’s easy to see why the critics loved this one, in particular.

While I’m not familiar with the Charles Portis novel, which I’ve read the movie stays true to, I am old enough to remember the 1969 original with John Wayne and Kim Darby. Even though I was a kid, I liked the John Wayne version, but it was much tamer and much more “Hollywood” than what I saw yesterday.

The Coen’s version is realistic down to even the smallest details like rotting teeth. It’s darker and much grittier. It’s also well cast and well acted, with bits of necessary humor in between forceful scenes. I haven’t seen the 1969 version since I was a kid, but I don’t remember it being nearly as intense.

True Grit was the perfect movie choice to revive my passion for seeing movies in the theater; had I seen something like Little Fockers, it may have shut me down for another year.

I know I’m late jumping on the horse for this one, but if you haven’t seen it yet, I would highly recommend you go before it disappears, although this isn’t a movie that would lose any of its magic if you waited for the DVD.

4 thoughts on “Movie review: True Grit lives up to its name and the critics praise

  1. Even though you may not have seen many 2010 films, I do hope you celebrate Oscar night in style like you usually do. By the way, I saw Little Fockers and it was pretty good 🙂

  2. I wouldn’t mind seeing Little Fockers. I liked the first one. But it’s just one of those movies I’ll wait to see on DVD.

    No plans for Oscar night yet, but I’m sure we’ll do something!

  3. I agree with you. I loved True Grit, rotting teeth and all. The casting was right on… Jeff Bridges and the young actress ( dont know her name ) were amazing to watch. Loved the dialogue too! It’s right up there with the original. On to The Fighter…

Leave a Reply

