Another top ten list … sort of

January 20, 2011 – I like the idea of the top ten list and wanted to compile one for my favorite television shows, but couldn’t come up with that many. I guess that says a lot about the choices available.

I did manage to gather a top five list of favorites, and researched the five most watched TV shows in 2010 to complete a list of ten.

Was I surprised that my list and the most popular list didn’t contain any of the same shows? Not really. In an era where cable shows are giving network shows plenty of competition, it’s not surprising at all.

The Top Five most watched TV shows in 2010:

 

5. Survivor – For as many years as this show has been on the air, and I’ve lost count, Survivor is still popular. It’s the granddaddy of all reality shows, making way for the plethora of reality shows that followed … and I’ve never even seen it.

4. NCIS – This long-running military investigation show is still a massive hit and now has a spin-off to its credit. I’ve always liked Mark Harmon from his St. Elsewhere days, but I’ve never seen NCIS, either.

3. Dancing with the Stars – ABC’s attempt to gain the popularity of American Idol, I suppose, but I don’t understand this show’s appeal. It’s wildly popular, though, and most people love it. I’ve never watched a minute of DWTS, and I’m not embarrassed to admit it.

2. Sunday Night Football – This ratings grabber is the most popular show on NBC by far. It may be on in my house every week, but usually upstairs in my son’s room. I only watch it downstairs when the Philadelphia Eagles play.

1. American Idol – This show continuously reigns supreme as the most show watched in terms of total viewers. I missed the first few seasons, but started watching sometime during season four, and yes, I became hooked. It’s anyone’s guess how this show will do without Simon Cowell.


My Favorite Top Five TV Shows in 2010:

 

5. Big Love – This television drama on HBO about a fictional fundamentalist Mormon family in Utah who practice polygamy has held my interest for five seasons. I’m sad that this will be its last season, but happy to see it go out before it jumps the shark.

4. Treme – Another HBO wonder, this drama gets its name from the Treme neighborhood in New Orleans and takes place right after Hurricane Katrina. I didn’t think I’d like it much when I saw it advertised, but I watched the first episode anyway. The characters and the music pulled me in immediately, and I became a fan.

3. Modern Family – Who said the sitcom was dead? Modern Family is definitely one of the funniest shows on television. There isn’t a week that goes by that I don’t laugh out loud at this clever show.

2. The Good Wife – Art imitates life, as the story line of The Good Wife is grabbed from the endless headlines of politicians cheating on their wives. But this drama is about so much more, too. It’s gripping and intelligent even when not dealing with Chicago’s crooked politicians.

1. Mad Men – This wonderful drama takes us inside the lives of Madison Avenue’s advertising executives in the 1960s with historical authenticity, covering everything from the Kennedy assassination to the Beatles coming to America. My only complaint is that the season is too short.

Leave a Reply

