Norwegian Wood Take 2

January 30, 2011 — How about  a little Beatles with your Sunday breakfast?

While it is one of my favorite Beatles songs, I recently discovered that Norwegian Wood is also very “tongue in cheek.” I should have known better; John Lennon was famous for the sarcasm in his lyrics. I knew the song was about an affair, and that the woman led the man on, then said “You’d better go sleep in the bath.” But I never realized the man took revenge by burning her house down.

Still, it’s a beautiful song, and it was the first time we got to hear George Harrison play the sitar. In this rare version, you can really hear John’s sarcasm come through… “She once had me…”

Leave a Reply

