Movie review: Inception is not my idea of a dream movie

February 8, 2011 – My quest to see as many best picture nominations as possible before the Oscars on Feb. 27 continued this past weekend with Inception.

Movies of this genre are typically overlooked during award season, at least outside of the special effects or art direction categories. After seeing Inception, its nod for best picture can only be explained by two theories: The Academy had 10 slots to fill this year, doubling the nominations of previous years, and they are attempting to appeal to the masses, and consider this movie one of the best in the “action” genre for 2010.

The premise of the story sounded appealing, which is why I decided to step out of my comfort zone and see it. Dreams have always fascinated me, and the ability to enter people’s minds through their dreams is intriguing.

However, about 15 minutes in, I started to fidget and lose interest because it became more about the special effects than the story itself. It reminded me of The Matrix, another over glorified movie I didn’t care for (and to be fair, didn’t comprehend).

I understand why Inception holds wide appeal for movie fans that enjoy the action, sci-fi genre. For me, however, it was too “futuristic”, a concept I despise because I find “dystopian type” movies depressing. While Inception may not take place in a futuristic society, it has that same look and feel. I much prefer storylines that depend on dialogue more than action, although there are a few rare exceptions, and Raiders of the Lost Ark comes to mind, which combine both brilliantly.

Aside from the special effects, the story jumped back and forth constantly, and I had trouble following whether it was happening in life or in a dream. Additionally, everyone I spoke with who has seen the movie has a different view of the ending, which finally came after two hours and 28 minutes of chaos.

Not that the writer and director Christopher Nolan is unhappy with that scenario.

“I’ve been asked about the ending more times than I’ve ever been asked any other question about any other film I’ve made,” he says. “I try to leave my movies open to interpretation.”

I don’t have a problem with different interpretations. I enjoy the debate they bring.

I just wish I skipped this and saw The Fighter instead.

Leave a Reply

