The 30-day song challenge – days 1 through 6

February 10, 2011 – If you read yesterday’s blog post, you know that I’ve decided to participate in the 30-day song challenge, but plan to complete the task over the next five days. So without further ado, let the sharing begin …

Favorite song – My favorite song changes often, depending on my mood, so this wasn’t an easy choice. Right now, I can’t seem to get enough of Under My Thumb by The Rolling Stones, the lyrics of which have provoked some negative reaction from the feminist crowd. I’ve always thought the song was very tongue in cheek, and that the woman holds the real power in this tuneful relationship. One thing is for sure … it’s impossible to stay still while it’s playing.

Least favorite song – There aren’t too many songs I truly dislike, but Diamond Girl by Seals & Crofts is tops on that short list. This song came out in 1974, so I had to go back a long way just to find it. This song aggravated me every time it played on the radio, which was frequently back then, so obviously many liked it. I will admit to enjoying other Seals and Crofts songs, but this one sounded like nails on a chalkboard.

A song that makes you happy – The lyrics to Sting’s Fields of Gold are beautiful and the images they bring to mind are among the most vibrant I’ve ever pictured. This song is a work of art, and it literally makes me feel happy whenever I hear it.

A song that makes you sad – I couldn’t pick one because there are many different ways to be sad. Eric Clapton’s Tears in Heaven is heartbreaking because it’s about the loss of a child, while just hearing the first few notes of We’ve Got Tonight by Bob Seger makes me cry because it’s about desperation and unrequited love. And finally, there is the sadness of lost hope, a feeling evident in Solomon Burke’s Fast Train. Originally written and recorded by Van Morrison, it is Burke’s version that is gut wrenching.

A song that reminds you of someone – Never was a big fan of Free Bird by Lynyrd Skynyrd, but as soon as I hear it, I think of an old high school friend who loved the song so much. The year this song was released she wrote in my yearbook “Have a Free Bird summer, man!”

A song that reminds you of somewhereNever Going Back Again by Fleetwood Mac is another song not among my favorites, but hearing it takes me back to Pennypack Park in Philadelphia, and weekends in the summer when my friends and I would hang out and listen to music. Fleetwood Mac’s Rumors and Bob Seger’s Against the Wind usually provided the soundtrack to the activities.

This was great fun to put together. Be sure to check back again tomorrow for the next set…

4 thoughts on “The 30-day song challenge – days 1 through 6

  1. Favorite song – Hahlelujah- but can’t decide on the Leonard Cohen original or Rufus Wainwright version. I just love the poetry of the lyrics. How L.C. combines the sacred & the profane. Always interesting to interpret.

    Least favorite song – Sweet Caroline… how this got to be a bar fave, I’ll never know. Although I have been known to sing along if I’ve had a few. When I heard Neil wrote it after seeing a picture of Caroline Kennedy as a little girl, it made it kinda creepy.

    A song that makes you happy – Moondance – I always picture myself dancing without abandon on a beach at night with a HUGE FULL MOON ( not mine ).

    A song that makes you sad – Tiger Comes at Night from Les Miz. I cannot hear this without crying. Its a world where women/girls have no options in life and could be taken advantage of so easily without recourse. And her “dreams turn into shame.”

    A song that reminds you of someone – So Happy Together – This was the only song that we liked on the jukebox at PePe’s Luncheonette in Wildwood in 1967. So, by default, it became “Our Song”. Whenever we heard it over the years I would say,”That’s our song.” Ray would always say, “It is?” I never knew if he was kidding or not. I think he was.

    A song that reminds you of somewhere – Oh Those Wildwood Days – of course reminds me of Oh those Wildwood days. So Good So Good So Good So Good.

  2. Love your choices! Thanks for sharing… and I actually I think I’ve done the beach dance with you during a full moon once your twice! We got chased by the teenaged cops one night, too!

    • Jane, I really wanted to do this but we went to Lake Placid last week and all the prep and travel set me back. I am going to do this now and I must swear to you that I did not use your answers to choose mine…when I read yours, you actually had songs I was thinking of!!!

      Favorite Song: I find this to be the most stressful response because it is so, I don’t know, ultimate and such. There are many songs that I will listen to whenever they are on the radio and there are songs that I think are true masterpieces for their genre, but these are not always the same. An excellent song and a favorite of mine is definitely “Fantasy” by Earth, Wind and Fire. My favorite song by my favorite band is “Monkey Man” by the Rolling Stones.

      Least Favorite Song: Oh, so many, especially with the music today and having a 13 year old in the house listening to it all day. A song I heard recently that almost made me throw up is “Whip My Hair” by Willow Smith. And I don’t like “Empire State” by Jay-Z and Alicia Keyes for baseball reasons.

      A Song that Make You Happy: “Your Smiling Face” by James Taylor. I used to sing it whenever Adam came into the room, when he was little. He was always so happy, and still is.

      A Song that Makes You Sad: “Tears in Heaven” by Eric Clapton. So depressing to me that I never listen to it.

      A Song that Reminds You of Someone: Wow, I could answer this one for pretty much everyone in my life! Off the top of my head, though, I’ll say “Electric Avenue” by Eddie Grant reminds me of my mom because she liked the song when it was out and used to sing it for me and my friends.

      A Song that Reminds You of Somewhere: “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother” by the Hollies was played on the Wildwood boardwalk at the same store every time I passed it one summer, must of been 1970 or 1971. I still think of the boardwalk and all the happy summers when I hear it.

Leave a Reply

