The 30-day song challenge – days 7 through 12

February 11, 2011 — The challenge continues…

A song that reminds you of a certain event – One of my best friends got married in the fall of 1983, and had her wedding party dance to the Gap Band’s You Dropped a Bomb on Me. I remember it well because I was very pregnant at the time, and worried I would pop out of bridesmaid dress. Yet, I was on the dance floor moving to this little disco number, and looking graceful, I’m sure.

A song that you know all the words to – Blessed with the ability to memorize a song after I hear it once or twice, I could have picked a gazillion songs for this category. With hopes of impressing you, I’ve selected Tangled Up in Blue, on of my favorite Bob Dylan songs with many, many words, few of which are repeated. I can even sing it with my best Dylan imitation if you’re interested.

A song that you can dance to – Growing up in the disco era, I certainly had a wide selection of tunes to choose from. However, the disco/funk beat of Hot Stuff from my favorite Rolling Stones album, Black and Blue, makes me want to boogie all of the time.

A song that makes you fall asleep – Back in the day, one of my favorite ways to wind down after a crazy night with friends was lull myself to sleep with music. So, I’d put on those huge earphones, which were plugged into my stereo, and listen to James Taylor’s Greatest Hits. Something in the Way She Moves was the song that put me to sleep every time — but in a good way.

A song from your favorite band – No doubt that the Beatles are my favorite band, and one of my favorite songs off Sgt. Pepper is Lovely Rita. I picked this song because I simply adore the Lennon harmony in the middle!

A song from a band you hate – It’s almost unAmerican to hate the Eagles, but I do. OK, hate is too strong a word. I don’t care for this band who once said they’d tour again when hell freezes over. I thought anyone spending hundreds of dollars for the “Hell Froze Over” tour in 1994 was pretty crazy. Lying Eyes is one of those songs that I dislike, but I torture myself by listening to now and then if it comes on the radio.

I’m still having fun with this! Be sure to check back again tomorrow for the next set…

View Part One

4 thoughts on “The 30-day song challenge – days 7 through 12

  1. A Song that Reminds You of a Certain Event: “Open Arms” by Journey takes me back to my senior prom. I loved that song and I was so excited to dance to it with my boyfriend, but when it came on at the prom, I was with Mary Carr in the ladies room taking care of her while she barfed. Nice.

    A Song that You Know all the Words to: “Thunder Road” by Bruce Springteen and “Sympathy for the Devil” by the Rolling Stones. Okay, that was two. Sorry I was bragging.

    A song that you Dance to: “Play that Funky Music White Boy” by Wild Cherry for funk and “Situation” by Yaz for new wave.

    A Song that Makes You Fall Asleep: Like Jane, I used to love to put myself to sleep by “Quite Storm” type music. One song that really relaxes me is “Cruisin'” by Smokey Robinson.

    A Song from your Favorite Band: “Miss You” by the Rolling Stones.

    A Song from a Band you Hate: “1979” by Smashing Pumpkins. Hate the Smashing Pumpkins.

  2. These are great choices, too. Songs do bring back so many memories, and I’m sure you remember the prom more for being in the ladies room with Mary, rather than dancing…

    And I LOVE Smokey Robinson’s Crusin!!! Very sexy song!

  3. A song that reminds you of a certain event – “We Are Gonna Be Friends” by The White Stripes. They sang this on Conan’s show two years ago. Me and Ben had a party in Grandmom’s room and stayed up to see them. Unfortunately, he fell asleep 5 minutes before they came on. I love Jack White.

    A song that you know all the words to – Subterrainean Homesick Blues by Dylan… Don’t know why I still remember all the words to this one. I guess because I played it a million times.

    A song that you can dance to – The Stones “Jumpin Jack Flash”. Rose & I loved dancing to this and doing our Mick imitation, very badly, I must say.

    A song that makes you fall asleep – I don’t fall asleep with music on but “Beautiful Boy” by John is a beautiful relaxing lullabye.

    A song from your favorite band – Of course it’s The Beatles and today I’ll say ” I Will” because I am in the process of picking out love songs and this one is so very beautiful.

    A song from a band you hate – ” In A Gadda Da Vida” by Iron Butterfly. Saw them in concert way way back & disliked them ever since.

Leave a Reply

