The 30-day song challenge – days 19 through 24

February 13, 2011 – Welcome back to the song challenge…

A song from your favorite album – Rubber Soul sits on the top of the list of my favorite albums. As much as I love the early and late Beatles, that in between stage of 1965-1967 is the era of their music I love best. So, in my opinion, In My Life is simply one of those perfect songs off of one of those perfect albums.

A song that you listen to when you’re angry – I don’t really have a song that I play when I’m angry, so I have to imagine that if I am angry, I want to calm down as quickly as possible. And one of the most calming songs I know is Catch the Wind by Donovan. It immediately brings down the blood pressure.

A song that you listen to when you’re driving – Driving songs are key to arriving wherever you are going in the right frame of mind. For some reason, Rusted Roots’ Send Me on My Way always puts me in that right mood. In this song in particular, they sound a lot like the Talking Heads, who also have many songs that are drive worthy.

A song that you work out to – After you hear the first couple of notes of Patrick Hernandez’s Born to Be Alive, you’re up and ready to move, whether it’s across your living room or at the gym. I double dare you not to dance during this song.

A song that you want to play at your wedding – This quintessential wedding song may seem cliché’, but True Companion by Marc Cohn is perfect for any marriage celebration. Something even more cliché is Dan Fogelberg’s Longer, which played at my wedding, but we have since parted ways. That’s OK. Marc Cohn is also divorced from the woman he wrote the song for. So, neither of those events should diminish the beauty and perfection of these two love songs.

A song that you want to play at your funeral – This song became an anthem for those fighting AIDs across the United States because of it’s uplifting lyrics. Carly Simon’s Life is Eternal boasts that “death is only a horizon, and the horizon is nothing more than the limit of our site.” Take a listen … the words are very comforting, and sung beautifully with the help of her son and daughter in the background.

Be sure to check back again tomorrow for the final set…

View Part One
View Part Two
View Part Three

2 thoughts on “The 30-day song challenge – days 19 through 24

  1. A song from your favorite album – I cant pick a favorite album but “Diamonds on the Souls of Her Shoes” from Paul Simon’s Graceland is right up there. I love every song on that album. Such unique harmonies and beats… ya gotta move!

    A song that you listen to when you’re angry – Not necessarily angry but if i need to cry it’s “Tomorrow Night” by Patti Griffin.

    A song that you listen to when you’re driving – “On the Road Again” by Willie Nelson. I always play it when starting on a long road trip. Puts me in a drivin mood.

    A song that you work out to – Let’s Get Physical because I look like Olivia Newton John. Only kidding. Obviously, I dont work out but I do a lot of walking and listen to everything under the sun.

    A song that you want to play at your wedding – I will be playing “Second Time Around” by Frank Sinatra and “Goes to Show You Never Can Tell” by Chuck Berry and i am going to twist my Pulp Fiction off!!

    A song that you want to play at your funeral – “Keep Me In Your Heart” by Warren Zevon. I guess it will become a tradition.

Leave a Reply

