Jobless situation improving?

March 5, 2011 – The Department of Labor reported good news for a change when it announced yesterday that the unemployment rate for February dropped to 8.9 percent. It was the third consecutive month the unemployment rate fell, down from 9.8 percent in November, marking the sharpest three-month decline since 1983.

Hopefully the announcement doesn’t sound more encouraging than it actually is; I know a lot of people who are itching to get back to work.

On a personal note, I have noticed an enormous increase in job interviews in the past two months, and I’ve had several promising second and third interviews, leaving me even more hopeful. I am confident that one of these opportunities will work out, but the hiring process seems more sluggish than the job market.

Still, let’s not lose sight of the facts. Even with the recent decline, unemployment rates remain historically high. And while I’m glad to know that the White House and lawmakers are encouraged by the news, there’s still a long way to go before I applaud their efforts.

2 thoughts on “Jobless situation improving?

  1. It is getting better out there. But I still have to work three part-time jobs to come close to what I was making in my full-time job two years ago.

Leave a Reply

