The modern resume

August 29, 2011 – The one thing we can count on in life is that nothing stays the same.

That goes for resumes too.

I just read a report over the weekend from www.ragan.com that simply choosing an overused font for your resume like Times New Roman may give potential employers the idea that you are lazy or difficult.

My resume features Times New Roman, and I can assure you that I am neither. I chose it because it’s clean and readable. Who knew that I could be considered uninspiring for using it?

My obsolete font choice can be easily rectified, according to the article, by selecting a more modern font such as Georgia. It also states that in the age of social media, we should make our resumes interactive, and build a storyline around them to bring it to life for those who read it.

That’s fine advice if you want a job in a creative industry like marketing or graphic design. But what if you’re looking for a position in the accounting or actuarial field? I don’t think it would go over that well if your resume were too out of the box.

Everyone wants their resume to stand apart from the competition, and if you’re a bit of a risk taker, the article gives a lot of unique tips you may find useful. They seem distracting to me, but judge it for yourself by reading it here.

Leave a Reply

