Covers worth their weight in vinyl

September 14, 2011 – I’m not a big fan of artists recording cover tunes – I much prefer the originals – but here is an interesting list of the 100 greatest cover songs of all time courtesy of www.popdose.com.

Of the three remakes that immediately spring to mind that I appreciate, two made this list. No. 97: I prefer George Harrison’s version of “If Not for You” over Bob Dylan’s, and no. 29: I enjoy Credence Clearwater Revival’s “I Heard it Through the Grapevine” a wee bit more than Marvin Gaye’s version even though some would consider that a sacrilege.

My other fave didn’t make this list, but it’s definitely on my short list: John Mellencamp’s “Under the Boardwalk” always makes me smile.

Interestingly, there are several songs on this list that I didn’t realize were remakes.

Leave a Reply

