Celebrating why people write

October 22, 2011 – Thursday was The National Day on Writing and it passed me by without my knowledge. Therefore, I’m celebrating today.

Selecting a day to honor the written word began as a project by the National Council of English Teachers to encourage people to share why they write. If you visit their website you can view video clips of several popular writers commenting on this topic.

The site also asked writers to tweet why they write. Here are a few responses that caught my eye:

1. “It’s cheaper than a shrink.”
2. “I can’t always say what I want to be heard.”
3. “To retain sanity.”
4. “To become a better person.”
5. “It’s the first thing I was good at.”
6. “There are restless characters clamoring to get out.”
7. “Because I can lie things into existence.”
8. “It comes out a heck of a lot better than when I speak.”
9. “It’s the least destructive addiction I could find.”
10. “Who says I have a choice?”

While I can relate to most many of these responses, especially #8, my answer is a little more simplistic. I write because it makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

