The next chapter begins

October 24, 2011 – After two years of contract work, freelance assignments, lots of frustration and a bit of creative financing, my state of unemployment/ underemployment has come to an end.

I am fortunate that today I begin a new full-time job in global communications.

Call me crazy, but I’m anxious to get back to the grind, learn about a new company and position, and tackle each challenge as it comes along. I’ve actually missed project deadlines, a heavy workload, meetings, conference calls and socializing with my associates. I’ve even missed the corporate red tape, as I wink and nod lovingly to my former friends/colleagues in legal and compliance who didn’t always let me write it the way I wanted to.

One interesting change that waits is that instead of hopping into my car to drive to the office, I will become a SEPTA commuter and take the train into central Philadelphia each morning. That means time to read, listen to music, meditate or simply enjoy the relaxation of being a passenger.

It has taken me 323 job applications and 32 unique interviews, which does not include second and third interviews brought on by first interviews, but it feels good to be gainfully employed again. I don’t honestly know if I could do it again.

For those of you still looking, hang in there and don’t give up.

2 thoughts on “The next chapter begins

Leave a Reply

