He’s just a soul whose intensions are good

November 5, 2011 – After reading the “10 Commandments for Atheists” by Penn Jillette, the speaking member of the Penn and Teller magician duo, I’m ready to admit something shocking.

I wish everyone could be like him.

Now don’t get too excited. I’m not denouncing my belief in God. I am a card-carrying member of the Christian faith. It just makes sense that there is a creator, a higher being or any other way to describe God. All I need to do is look at the ocean, the stars in the sky, or even the human body, to know there is a master designer. I don’t care that it can’t be proven.

For others, they need proof to believe, and who am I to judge? But I do believe that if everyone followed those 10 rules penned by Gillette, we’d live in a near-perfect world.

Of course, the same holds true for the actual 10 Commandments followed by Christians and Jews alike, but I’m willing to admit I was ignorant when it came to atheism; it doesn’t always equate with evil.

Take, for example, those so-called Christian extremists of the Westboro Baptist Church who picket the funerals of our military men and women, along with others they pass judgment upon with their “God hates” mentality. Just as many so-called religious people are guilty of crimes against humanity as non-religious people. In the end, would God save one of them over the kind-hearted Jillette?

While I can’t say for sure how God feels about atheists, I do believe He respects all who do right by their fellow-man. After all, it is supposed to be the Christian way.

As for Jillette, there’s an old Animals’ song that begs, oh, Lord, please don’t let him be misunderstood.

And I’ll say a prayer for him just in case.

Leave a Reply

