Move over Angry Birds; the buzz now belongs to Words with Friends

November 26, 2011 – Not too long ago it was the video game Angry Birds that struck a chord with iPad and cell phone gamers. Everywhere I went people were talking about the slingshot game that asks you to save the birds from the mean green pigs.

Now the buzz has turned to Words with Friends, the online game where you challenge your friends to word building with double and triple letters and words to see who can score the most points.

Sounds a lot like Scrabble, right? And it is. There are just slight differences in the board layout and the amount of points some letters are worth.

I’ve never played Angry Birds, but I do enjoy Words with Friends as much as I enjoy a good game of Scrabble. Right now, I’m involved with eight games on Facebook with friends and family locally and across the country, and I look forward to logging on to find a message that it’s my turn.

So take a break from the holiday rush, and join in on the fun. If you’re on Facebook, I’m always up for a good game. Friend me at Jane McMaster Conroy and challenge me to a game today.

2 thoughts on “Move over Angry Birds; the buzz now belongs to Words with Friends

  1. Angry Birds is officially the most successful paid application on any mobile platform right now. Millions of copies have been downloaded already which makes it a runaway hit for the game maker Rovio. It has a very simple yet addicting gameplay.

Leave a Reply

