Is Black Friday really worth it?

November 27, 2011 – Some media sources have reported that Black Friday sales were flat, while others say they were strong.

According to USA Today, sales were at least 7% stronger than in 2010, and it was the strongest overall start to the holiday shopping season since 2007.

That’s certainly good news for retailers and the economy, but what will ever prompt someone to go to a mall at midnight or to stand in line for a store to open at 4 a.m. is beyond anything I can comprehend. I’d even read a report that a shopper pepper sprayed a bunch of other shoppers just so she could get whatever she wanted. Sadder yet, she got away with it.

I’m proud to be a Black Friday anti-shopper, and vow never to go near a mall or a chain store on that particular day. Why should I? I’m even more convinced those so-called best bargains are all hype conjured up by the retailers just to get you there, and that the best deals will still come as we inch closer to Christmas. Besides, I just don’t have the stomach for a fight to the death.

As the weekend winds down, and we settle back into the norm, I’m happy the shopping frenzy of Black Friday is history.

Tomorrow is my day. I’ve always been more of a Cyber Monday kind of a girl.

3 thoughts on “Is Black Friday really worth it?

  1. I like to shop on Black Friday just to get out and enjoy some walking and fresh air. I do not, however, stand in line for hours or wake up at crazy times just to save $20. My sleep is worth more than that 🙂 I am happy, however, that the day was somewhat successful for the stores. That is a good sign!

    • I agree it is a good sign. I guess it all boils down to the fact that I never liked shopping so it would be the last thing I would want to do, especially if the crowds are overwhelming…

Leave a Reply

