Fun Friday: A laughable top ten list

January 13, 2011 – It’s Friday the 13th, and the first of three we’ll be treated to this year.

What better way to chase away the bad luck than to laugh.

Here’s a top ten list (in reverse order) of things that make me laugh:

  1. Monty Python’s Ministry of Silly Walks – I’m not a huge Python fan, although I sort of enjoyed some of their movies such as “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”. This skit from their 1970s British TV series is among the most stupid ever, but it is slide splitting and for that it holds special place in my heart.
  2. “Fletch” – Back in the 1970s, when Chevy Chase was at the top of his game he played an investigative reporter named Irwin Fletcher in the movie “Fletch”. To get the best dirt on whatever he was writing about he’d go undercover in a myriad of costumes and adopt a new personality to go with it. My favorite is Mr. Poon, the Comanche Indian government agent. I made my son watch it with me one day, and he didn’t think it was funny, but obviously there is something wrong with him. I will admit it seems dated, like one of those old SNL skits from the first season, but if you’re over 40 you’ll think it’s hilarious.
  3. The Capital One commercial with Jimmy Fallon and the baby – Thanks to the invention of the DVR, I rarely watch anything in real time, which means I can fast forward through all of the commercials. But during the baseball playoffs in the fall, which I did watch live, I discovered this funny commercial. What’s the old adage; never work with children or animals because they’ll upstage you every time? That’s true, even for an experienced comedian like Fallon.
  4. Peter Sellers – The Pink Panther movies. Enough said.
  5. Any conversation with my friend Berta – Have you ever met someone who is up all of the time? Or has more high and low pitch in her voice that makes everything she says extremely fascinating? That definitely describes Berta, who also has the most contagious laugh to boot! Each time we speak, my cheeks hurt from laughing and smiling so much.
  6. My friend Judye’s story telling ability – Sure she often finds herself in the most unusual predicaments, which is funny enough, but it’s her recount of what happened and her ability to spin a fine yarn that keeps me giggling madly.
  7. Airplane – It’s true that this comic gem was released around the same time as “Fletch” give or take a few years, but no matter how much I watch it, I find something new to laugh about. This movie is definitely slapstick genius and it doesn’t seem dated at all. Surely, I can’t be serious. Oh, but I am serious, and don’t call me Shirley.
  8.  A baby’s laugh – I can’t think of one happier sound than that of a baby’s laughter. I clearly remember the first time my son laughed (and danced, which was also hilarious). There is something so special about it, and it definitely cures what ails me.
  9. People falling – A few years ago I took a tumble down my parents’ porch steps. Thankfully, I didn’t break anything, but I was pretty bruised for a few days. But when it happened, my son and I laughed so hard because he said I fell in slow motion with the craziest look on my face. Of course, if someone gets seriously hurt, it’s no laughing matter, but people falling sometimes make me laugh, even though it sounds kind of mean. I may try to cover it up with a small fib, claiming I laugh when I’m nervous, and I do, but falling is often just plain comical.
  10. My son – From the moment he was born, no one has made me crazier or made me laugh more than this kid. From his kiddy flubs when he would exclaim “I’m being have,” (rhymes with gave) when I told him to behave, or said “I wish the visitors would leave” when we had company, to his dead-on impressions and silly sense of humor, he cracks me up.
Leave a Reply

