The Phillies, the Flyers, and waiting your turn

May 2, 2012 – Confucius once said, “May you live in interesting times.”

He wasn’t referring to the Philadelphia Sports fan when he made this statement, but if you’re from the area, or follow Philly sports teams, it’s easy to see the comparison.

Take a look at the Phillies, for example.

Avid baseball fans like me have been spoiled by the Phillies’ success over the past five years. We count down the days until Spring Training each winter and to Opening Day each spring. This year was no exception, even though most of us are disappointed by their lackluster start. That’s interesting (or confusing) considering they have one of the best – if the not best –starting rotation in baseball.

Then you have the Flyers, and all of the interesting (or fun and exciting) stuff surrounding them.

I can’t pretend that I’m a tried and true hockey fan. I’m simply your average band wagon jumper who has discovered that playoff hockey can be a blast, even though I don’t understand all of the little finer points of the game, and have a hard time following the puck. Honestly, I’m never sure if they score until I hear the excitement in the announcer’s voice, or the cheers of the crowd.

So, I’ve come to the interesting (or poignant) conclusion that I enjoy sports that allow you to take your turn. It works nicely in baseball and football, which is why I reserve hockey and basketball for the playoffs, and not the regular season.

It’s all about taking your turn. It is, after all, the polite thing to do.

4 thoughts on “The Phillies, the Flyers, and waiting your turn

  1. Ok, so where do I fit in? I jump in when it’s time for the playoffs, but rarely have interest until the end. It does not matter who’s turn it is unless it comes down to the trophy. Then I’m all Philly.

    • I think that’s pretty common, Pam. It’s often hard to keep the momentum going through an entire season of any sport. I guess football is a little different because it’s only once a week and it has the shortest season. But others can seem endless.

Leave a Reply

