When stars align, and the message is clear you have to accept the challenge

May 16, 2012 – When I was a kid, I remember attending one particular Phillies game on a Saturday night in June.

It was June 22, 1974 to be exact, and the reason I remember it so vividly is because I was sitting in right field along the foul line, Phillies right fielder Mike Anderson was wearing #22, and I had just read in the Phillies Yearbook that it was his birthday.

Those three factors, along with the gorgeous weather made my child brain believe it was a sign of an absolutely perfect moment, and from that moment on June 22 became my favorite day. Funny how I don’t remember if the Phillies won or lost that night, or who they were playing, but a quick Google provided that information easily; the Phillies beat the New York Mets 5-2, which makes it even better.

Flash forward to present day. While I can’t say that June 22 remained special for me over the years, I still think about my childhood perfect day now and then and it makes me smile.  So, imagine my surprise when I saw a commercial for the new Disney Pixar movie “Brave”. The tag line jumped out at me in big bright gold letters: “If you could change your fate, would you – June 22”.

The adult side of me knows very well that June 22 is simply the day “Brave” hits theaters, and it’s a clever way to market the film. But the kid inside of me jumped for joy again. Could the universe be sending me another message? Perhaps I should have stood my ground and celebrated each June 22nd. Instead, like many childhood thrills, I let it go like it didn’t matter anymore.

Now June 22 is tempting me to change my fate, and I’d be crazy not to accept the challenge. I’m overdue anyway, so game on, Universe.

Oh, where to begin? There’s so much I want to work on.

I suppose I have until June 22 to decide.

3 thoughts on “When stars align, and the message is clear you have to accept the challenge

  1. Pingback: It’s the luckiest day of the year | janemcmaster

Leave a Reply

