10 movie/television lines I have used in my daily conversations

August 1, 2012 – A famous quote can be inspirational, but a good line from a movie or a television show can change your life.

OK, maybe that is a bit of an exaggeration, but these one liners certainly had an impact on me and my conversations. Here are 10 lines from the movies or television that I use pretty frequently:

1. “Be careful out there among the English.” Do you remember “Witness”, the Harrison Ford cop drama where he hid from the Philly cops in Lancaster County? The Amish grandfather, Eli Lapp said this line each time an a member of his clan left the compound. I began using it after I saw the movie each time my son left the house. And, boy did he love that.

2. “Go to the window.” This is probably the most unknown line on the list. Kudos to you if you are familiar with it! The line is from the 1965 Beatles’ comedy “Help” and it is used by the Eastern fanatical high priest each time he attempts to sacrifice Ringo – because it is what you do to he who wears “the ring.” The entire movie is full of great one liners, but this is the one I enjoy most in that sing song way it is used in the movie.

3. “These pretzels are making me thirsty.” Seinfeld is filled with repeatable lines that make people laugh. “Is anyone here a marine biologist?” “Not that there’s anything wrong with that,” and who could forget, “You are not sponge worthy.” Any one of these lines is usually followed by broad smiles. But my favorite and one I say the most is the George pretzel line, although I’m not sure why. I really don’t eat a lot of pretzels.

4. “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia.” If you’re of a certain age you’re bound to remember the classic line from “The Brady Bunch”, and you’ve probably used it yourself on occasion. The quintessential middle child Jan Brady uttered the line in a moment of jealously. I use it whenever I hear someone whine.

5. “Fate has brought you here, John Carter”. I haven’t used this line lately, but I did use it constantly a few month ago when they were over-advertising the movie, “John Carter.” It may have flopped at the box office, but I drove my family crazy for weeks saying this line over and over.

6. “Little metal bottle caps.” This is a true blast from the past, from the television show “The Monkees”. I loved this comedy show so much as a kid, and I loved the way Davy Jones uttered “Little metal bottle caps” in his Cockney accent. I still repeat it today, although I don’t remember exactly why he said those crazy words.

7. “We all have our El Guapos.” Taken from the hilarious pages of “The Three Amigos” script, this line is used by Steve Martin’s Lucky Day character to emphasize that we all have our issues, and I use it to indicate the same. Of course Lucky adds, “Ours just happens to be the real El Guapo and he wants to kill us!”

8. “Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.” The classic comedy of all comedies “Airplane” is chock full of lines worth repeating. I’m just drawn to this phrase as said by Lloyd Bridges playing the air traffic controller. He used it several times with a few different vices that included drinking, smoking and taking pills.

9. “She’s chopping broccoli.” Each time I make broccoli, I sing the Dana Carvey song to the famous Saturday Night Live skit. I can’t help it. And I can’t stop it, either.

10. “I know nothing.” I really don’t know much, so you can imagine how often I get to use this famous television quote made famous by Sergeant Schultz of “Hogan’s Heroes”. I was a little young to be an actual Hogan’s Heroes fan, but that line stuck just the same. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

