Saturday in the park

September 3, 2012 – After hearing so many wonderful tales about Peace Valley Park, near Doylestown, Pa., in Bucks County, I decided to venture that way on Saturday to see what I could discover there.

The park surrounds beautiful Lake Galena, and sits on 1,500 acres of nature’s bounty, making it spectacular for bird watching, and catching glimpses of other wildlife, along with hiking, biking, fishing, boating, and picnicking.

What inspired the visit the most is the superb photo below taken by my good friend, Kirsten who is a regular at Peace Valley Park. It looks like it could be taken from the pages of “National Geographic”.

This shot she took of the turtles sunning themselves resembles a professional photograph next to my amateur shots. I’m sad to say that I didn’t see any turtles on my trip, but I did see plenty of ducks, and I found the pesky creatures a bit difficult to photograph because they move so fast.

I also came upon this lovely lavender field and discovered a little gift shop on the grounds that sell items such as lavender bath products, essential oils and pillow sprays.

I wish I met up with a turtle or two, or some other form of unique wildlife; the most interesting, a bee that decided to fly inside of my car and keep me company on my way home. I am still shocked I didn’t panic and cause an accident. Mr. Bee quietly flew out of the window (I’m certain this is exactly why they invented automatic windows) and I made my way home knowing that with the autumn season fast approaching, another visit to Peace Valley Park is close behind.

2 thoughts on “Saturday in the park

  1. Hi Jane….the peace valley lavendar store is my dear friend’s brother-in-law’s farm and store. the lavendar smells delicious. i want to go to the park again. it’s beautiful and relazing. andy told me he saw you at work…he was so happy when he was telling me how he saw you. i’m still at catalyst in horsham and was just made permanent this past friday. i guess i passed the test. how about you?

    On Mon, Sep 3, 2012 at 12:25 AM, janemcmaster

    • Hi Gigi, good to hear from you. I’d love to go back to that lavender store anytime, so let me know if you want to make a visit soon.

      It was surprising fun to run into Andy!!

      And I’m glad you’ve been made permanent. I hope they realize what an asset they have in you!

Leave a Reply

