The flavors of autumn

September 21, 2012 – The days are growing shorter, there is a nip in the air, and tomorrow is the first day of autumn.

By far my favorite season quickly approaches and I look forward to the burst of color – which should be vibrant this year in the Northeast according to weather.com – and the flavors like pumpkin, cinnamon, apple and nutmeg that come along with it.

The impending chilly weather also has marketers scrambling to capture the warm spirit of the season. The arrival of pumpkin spiced coffee drinks at Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks and Wawa stores is already old news, and this year you can count Hershey Foods into the mix, with their limited edition pumpkin spice Hershey Kisses.

My first reaction when I saw the bag sitting on the counter in my office kitchen was hopeful. While Hershey will never improve on the original chocolate kiss, they get an “A” for effort and creativity for rolling out nice variations, such as white chocolate, mint, peanut butter, cherry cream and caramel, along with seasonal favorites.

When I unwrapped my first pumpkin spice kiss, it surprised me not to see a blend of pumpkin and chocolate swirled together, or chocolate on the outside, with a pumpkin spice filling inside, as Hershey has done with other flavors. Instead, it was all pumpkin spice reminiscent of those maple sugar candies you might see in a gift shop in Vermont, but with a smoother consistency that begins to melt as soon as you pop it into your mouth.

While some reviews compare the taste to a slice of pumpkin pie — because of their creamy consistency I’d say pumpkin cheesecake is a better description — I found them to be flavorful, but a bit too sweet for my taste. Most likely they have a white chocolate confection base, that is always too sweet, with pumpkin flavoring. It made me miss the milk or dark chocolate flavors, which I think would blend well with pumpkin spice.

Although I haven’t seen them in the stores yet, I understand Hershey is also marketing Candy Corn Kisses, which doesn’t appeal to me in the least, and Caramel Apply Kisses, which may hold possibilities. In any case, you might want to try these interesting combinations of fall flavors before they disappear from the store shelves.

Wouldn’t it be nice if Hershey packaged all three flavors in one bag so you wouldn’t have to buy them individually just to sample?

4 thoughts on “The flavors of autumn

Leave a Reply

