TV review: The Jenny McCarthy Show

mailFebruary 15, 2013 – Have you seen Jenny McCarthy’s new late-night talk show that debuted on VH-1 last Friday night?

If anything, it just proves my theory that I am one step closer to having a talk show of my own, because eventually everyone seems to get one. It also proves that like MTV these days, VH-1 is about anything but music, and that is just sad.

I’m not very familiar with McCarthy, but I know she’s a comedienne and an outspoken activist against vaccines for babies because she believes they may be a leading cause of autism. I also know she used to be a playboy playmate and she used to date Jim Carrey.

After watching the first episode, my first thought was she is stealing Chelsea Handler’s shtick (or perhaps that of Andy Cohen of Bravo’s “Watch What Happens Live”, although I will admit I love him) with her outrageous no-filter mouth and lots of booze flowing throughout the show. And I should mention the saucy language that annoyingly causes about every third word to be beeped out. Now, after just one episode, I know more about McCarthy than I ever cared to know.

According to McCarthy, she believes her talk show is different than the norm because, “We don’t have pre-interviews, so I make it really candid for the celebs to come on and just hang out for a half hour.”

McCarthy also claims that her interviews are really more conversations than a question and answer routine. Her favorite part of the show is the man-on-the ground interviews where she and the guest literally lay on the carpet, suck lollipops and have a conversation. She believes celebrities open up more when they are not sitting in an interview-type setting.

The half-hour show airs every Friday night at 10:30 p.m. EST. Its purpose, it seems is to make you believe you’re viewing a party between McCarthy and her friends, but who wants to watch that? Maybe it’s supposed to make you feel like you’re there, too, but if so, it was lost on me. It’s been reported that she turned down an opportunity to host a talk show on OWN, Oprah’s network, but chose to go over to VH-1 instead. Even though OWN is not doing well, it’s difficult to believe that she would choose VH-1 instead – then again, maybe not considering the type of show she chooses to do.

I’m sure there are plenty of people out there who find this format humorous; I’m just not one of them. Even so, I can’t believe this one will last long, folks, so if you want to see it for yourself, catch it quick. Better  yet, just skip it.

Leave a Reply

