Ten odd and fascinating facts about “The Wizard of Oz”

hamilton coraMay 6, 2013 – Much has already been written about “The Wizard of Oz”, the 1939 American fantasy about life over the rainbow, so it is difficult to believe there is anything left to reveal. However, these 10 facts about the one of the most beloved films in history, courtesy of listverse.com, contain several points that I did not know, and I love surprises.

The Wicked Witch of the West still scares me as an adult. It is hard to believe she is the same woman who played the friendly as Cora in the Maxwell House commercials years ago.

I should add an fascinating fact of my own: In the scene where Dorothy first meets the Scarecrow, her pigtails go from short to longer back to short again several times. My friend, Dina discovered that little oddity when we saw the film on the big screen at Universal Studios in California several years ago. Now I can’t watch it without it glaring at me.

Leave a Reply

