Belated wishes to a true gem

Carly%20Simon-6June 28, 2013 – Earlier this week, on June 25, 2013, Carly Simon, an icon in music over the last 50 years, turned 68.

I’ve listened to this great singer/songwriter all of my life. Simon’s lyrics make me feel more emotion than any other female in the business (although Joni Mitchell is a close second), and her music, from the early days through today, never grows old. The warm, rich tones of her vocals may have become raspier with age, but somehow that makes me adore her even more.

Through the years, I’ve read many books about her life, some of the material unauthorized, although she has wisely said that if you want to know more about me, just listen to my lyrics. I’ve also had the honor of seeing her live twice, a remarkable fete considering she suffers from terrible stage fright and rarely tours. That led me to believe I knew a lot about the public persona of my favorite female performer. However, a quick google search had me  stumbling upon a few things I never knew, and that surprise me.

In 1995, for example, Simon attended a Joni Mitchell concert at a small New York club. Nothing strange about that, but rumor has it she got into a tussle with Pretender’s lead singer Chrissie Hynde during the show. Witnesses claim that a drunken Hynde disrupted a nearby Simon with shouts of “I love you Joni” and loud clapping during the performance, and when Simon asked her to quiet down, Hynde punched and choked her. Hynde’s publicist said Hynde actually hugged her, playfully choked her “in a loving way”, and told Simon she loved her, too. Either way, it would have been something interesting to witness.

I also discovered she recently sang a duet with opera great Placido Domingo. They joined forces to sing “The Last Night of the World” from “Miss Saigon”. How beautiful is that?

Simon has been rewarded for her career in music with several Grammys, a Golden Globe, and an Oscar. She was inducted into the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame in 1994, and the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2004. She also found a lucrative second career as a children’s author with five books to her credit.

Here she is singing her modern anthem, “Happy Birthday”.

Happy belated birthday, Carly! Thank you for sharing your remarkable talent with all of us.

Leave a Reply

