With age comes wisdom and a whole lot more

untitledSeptember 13, 2013 – The last of my girlfriends to cross over into big 5-0 territory did so yesterday, which makes me want to find younger friends! Kidding aside, I have had a few years’ experience with the decade now, so I tried to explain that turning 50 isn’t bad. She didn’t buy it, but after the initial shock wears off, she will.

For me, it was worse turning 30. I suppose I thought 30 was the age that instantly transformed me into adult hood. I was the mother of a seven-year-old by then, so I should have realized that had already happened. Still, 30 scared me, and that craziness must run in the family; that same seven-year-old is turning 30 in January and he is not happy about it.

By the time I reached 40, I realized the compromise. I could act like an adult when I needed to, and play like a child when I didn’t. It worked perfectly.

Still, the milestone birthdays hit hardest, and that is understandable. Just when you get used to being in your 20s, 30s, 40s, or 50s, the next decade is staring you square in the face, not giving much warning. In honor of my friend’s 50th and my son’s pending 30th, here are a few reasons why it’s good to be over 29:

  • In your 20s, you think you know everything, especially if you’re a college graduate. Then life kicks you in the butt a few times to bring you to reality, and it stings.
  • The 30s make you more assertive, you feel more comfortable with you who are, and you have more confidence in your decisions.
  • By the time you reach 40, you realize how wise you’ve become. In addition, people listen to you and take you seriously.
  • At 50, you really come into your own. You don’t really care what others think about you anymore because it doesn’t matter. You’re secure and happier for it.

While there is no magical decade that is best for everyone, we need to remember that life is what we make it. Someone once told me to live every day as if you only have six months left. To a twenty something, that statement would probably make you roll your eyes, but within the next decade or so, it begins to make a lot of sense.

4 thoughts on “With age comes wisdom and a whole lot more

Leave a Reply

