Capturing the moment

canon_powershot_sx30_is_angle_medium 2October 21, 2013 – I’ve always had a strong interest in photography, yet I know little more about the art than placing the camera in auto mode and pushing the button.

It’s time to learn more. The inspiration behind my decision – the night shots I took at my sister’s outdoor wedding reception last month were nothing more than a blur of lights mixed with darkness, which probably had more to do with my camera than photography skills. Still, my quest requires me to upgrade both.

Research led me to Canon because I have had a positive experience with them in the past. Back in the day, when film was king, I had a Canon Sure Shot that took beautiful pictures. I decided on a Canon Power Shot, a definite upgrade from my old Nikon Coolpix. Not quite a professional photographer’s choice, but a good beginner camera for anyone who wants to learn the science behind the photo. Once I read the manual, I will experiment (and share the results) without the help of auto mode. Until then, if only to get a feel for the camera, I’m on auto mode all the way. Here are the first shots:

Peddler's Village in Lahaska, Pa.

Peddler’s Village in Lahaska, Pa.

The pond at Peddler's Village

The pond at Peddler’s Village

The gazebo in Peddler's Village

The gazebo in Peddler’s Village

The water wheel at Peddler's Village

The water wheel at Peddler’s Village

7 thoughts on “Capturing the moment

  1. Pingback: Things I’d like to do before the year’s end | janemcmaster

Leave a Reply

