Ready, set … hold on, not so fast!

thCAT8X18XNovember 1, 2013 – It seems that the month of November is associated more with NaNoWriMo and Movember these days than any other event. These two relatively new and unconventional events require me to do something faster than I normally would, which simply isn’t appealing.   

Makes you wonder what happened to Thanksgiving. When else do we get to indulge in the foods of the harvest, spend time with family members, drink to our hearts content, and take part in a Trivial Pursuit tournament that starts out fun, but makes you want to cry like a baby when it’s still going on five hours later? The only thing expected of me on Thanksgiving is a visit the local orchard to buy a few pies.

I’ll pass on NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), which began today at the stroke of midnight. While I admire the thousands who will take on the challenge and complete it, I fail to see the benefit. I have tried twice in the past, thought it was ridiculous, lost momentum, and failed. Who needs that?

I can’t argue that NaNoWriMo offers a unique approach to writing a novel. Authors sign up on the website and agree to write 50,000-word novel by 11:59:59 on November 30. There are some dedicated followers who waited until midnight to begin, and have 20 or so pages written already. I applaud them for their effort, but I can’t buy into the concept that it is good for me to write 50,000 empty words, without looking back and without editing as I go, an impossible task for me.

I also fail to see the benefit of lowering expectations and writing whatever pops into my head. That sounds like an exercise for 30 minutes, not for 30 days. If I write a novel – not an easy task by any means – I want to give it my best effort. I have always been a quality over quantity type of girl.

Genetically, I suppose I am unable to participate in Movember, the annual event that asks you to grow a moustache during the month of November to raise awareness of prostate cancer and men’s health. Maybe if I stopped plucking the upper lip all month I could give it a go. It won’t be a Magnum P.I. type of moustache, but it would be visible, especially in direct sunlight.

Therefore, this November I will forego the challenge to write a 50,000-word novel, or grow a moustache and concentrate on giving Thanksgiving the credit it deserves. I have pies to buy, after all. I will continue to write because my day job and this blog require it, but at my pace. I won’t, however, give up my tweezers.

2 thoughts on “Ready, set … hold on, not so fast!

Leave a Reply

