Experimenting with black and white photography

November 4, 2013 — Back when film was used, I loved trying to take black and white photos. I had little success; my shots were dull and flat, and the opposite the intriguing images that caught my eye.

Today’s digital cameras and photo software help amateurs like me look better than we are. I may never be Ansel Adams, but here is my attempt at the color shot followed by the black and white shot from Laurel Hill Cemetery in the East Falls area of Philadelphia:

laurel hill 1

laurel hill 1 bw

laurel hill 2

laurel hill 2 bw

Below is an interesting comparison. Even though there isn’t much color in the first photo other than the red roof and green leaves, the black and white shot looks quite different proving they do tell a different story.

small house color

tiny house bw

2 thoughts on “Experimenting with black and white photography

Leave a Reply

