Who won that Grammy?

ALeqM5ixXk_7j5NNmv9b1OLd5JevAVAs_QJanuary 27, 2014 – Congratulations to all of the artists who won Grammys last night, whoever they may be. I may not be familiar with their music or their names, but receiving a Grammy is an honor, and it should be celebrated.

There was a time not so long ago when I was gaga over any type of music award show. Music is my go to entertainment over any other form. Alas, I am a child of the 70s, and my musical tastes still swing that way. Yet, I can appreciate music outside of that decade and the variety of styles that gave us interesting folk/acoustic, classical, and the standards I grew up listening to at my parents’ parties, such as Sinatra, Bobby Darrin, Vaughn Monroe, and Harry Bellefonte, to name a few. I’m also a fan of music from the 80s and 90s, and even the 60s.

Much of today’s music pales in comparison. For instance, I never heard of one song nominated for Record of the Year, which included “Get Lucky” (Daft Punk), “Radioactive” (Imagine Dragons), “Royals” (Lorde), “Locked Out of Heaven” (Bruno Mars), and “Blurred Lines” (Robin Thicke). Same goes for Song of the Year and Album of the Year.

Looking back, Grammy and I have always had a love/hate relationship. Grammy voters overlooked the artists I listened to back in the day, so while I watched, I was often frustrated by the winners.

For example, The Beatles, the best selling band in history, are the recipients of 9 Grammys, which may sound like a lot for a band who recorded music for less than 10 years. When you consider several of those Grammys came in recent years for compilation albums and their Anthology stuff, it isn’t a lot. The Rolling Stones only have three Grammy wins, and one of them is a Lifetime Achievement Award. That’s a small amount for a band celebrating their 50th anniversary.

Many of the artists I consider my favorites never won a Grammy, and in many cases, never garnered a Grammy nomination. It’s not that they are less talented or celebrated than the prefab, pop, recording studio dubbed winners who nabbed the big prize. But that’s OK. Fans of the Emmys, Tonys and Oscars often say the same, and we live in a world when the best doesn’t always win.

It’s been more than 10 years now since I tuned into the Grammys. As a music lover it makes me sad, yet I still don’t feel like I missed a thing.

10 thoughts on “Who won that Grammy?

  1. I watched some of it. I know the Daft Punk song. It’s not bad. I really wanted to see the two remaining Beatles perform. And, Bruno Mars. I reallly like him…Jane, you will see him perform at the half-time show during the Super Bowl.

    • I’ve heard of Bruno Mars, and also the Imagine Dragons (great name!) but I’m not familiar with the songs at all. I suppose I have to stop listening to sports radio. I can’t find a music radio station that I like other than WXPN, which I enjoy in small doses, and when I’m looking to listen to something different. I will watch and listen for Bruno in the Super Bowl. Thx.

  2. Watched it from start to finish and enjoyed it immensely. I enjoyed the wide range of entertainment this year, from Beyonce and Jay-z to Willie and friends. There was something for everyone. Thanks to Pandora I can keep up with current trends and was famiiar with most of the music. I recently saw Imagine Dragons in concert with my grandson, Ben and they were awesome. I also loved seeing Yoko (who i have grown to love/like) and Sean looking so much like John. I am still feeling happy this morning. My only regret is that “I’m Shakin” didn’t win and Jack White wasn’t in attendance. By far, my favorite Song of the Year but not nominated.

    • I’ve been hearing good things, so I suppose I’m the one who missed out. The last several shows have been a drag, so that’s why I didn’t even bother. I also listen to Pandora, which helps keep me in touch with some new artists, but the ones I’m drawn to aren’t played on any radio stations or nominated for awards. You’d think I’d be better since I live with Charlie, but he’s a worse critic with newer music than I am!!

  3. Jack White’s “Im Shakin” was up for Best Rock Performance…. Radioactive by Imagine Dragons won. They would have been my second choice.

  4. I, too, have not watched Grammys the past several years, just did not appeal to me and
    I was unfamiliar with the performers and music. This year I heard
    that the Beatles would be honored and decided to watch. It was really a great show, very well
    produced, more music than actual awards and I also became acquainted with performers I was
    not aware of. I even downloaded Deft Punk’s “Get Lucky” on Monday–never heard of them before .

Leave a Reply

