Handling life’s little surprises

imagesMay 7, 2014 — The unexpected can hit at any moment. Life’s little surprises come in two forms, good or bad, and they often have a tremendous impact on our lives.

If you are someone who adapts well to new situations, perhaps you can let the unexpected roll off your back when the situation is bad, and relish it and celebrate when it is good. I long to be one of these people, and sometimes I am. However, I am dealing with surprising news that came on Monday, and I am struggling to adapt with this one.

Here is a list of ways to cope with change that I jotted down yesterday. The advice is nothing new, but it made it believable to put it in writing.

Be prepared. I may not be a Boy Scout, but this is solid advice. Life is all about change, and no matter what it is, it is best to be ready when it comes. Or, at least keep an open mind because change is a constant.

Trust my instincts. If I take time to notice the signs, I’m not being paranoid. Rather, I’m preparing myself for what may happen. I will remain alert and not disregard the signs before me.

Stay positive. I want to believe that everything happens for a reason, and that something good typically comes out of every change. Change is often an opportunity for a do over, after all.

Take a minute. I will step back to absorb what happened before I react. Sometimes accepting change takes time, and that’s OK. I will allow myself the time I need.

Accept it. In many cases, I don’t have a choice, so why fight it. The Serenity Prayer comes into mind here; God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.

I’ll step off my soapbox now…

4 thoughts on “Handling life’s little surprises

  1. The Serentity prayer is my “goto” when I am undecided, anxious, upset, nervous, etc… I also say it just because…

Leave a Reply

