What is your creative outlet?

creativeJune 6, 2014 – The tasks we complete each day to maintain our living standard can become routine, and anything routine can suck the life out of us. To re-energize, it is important to find outlets that keep our creativity flowing.

Everyone is creative, even the most practical and analytical people. If you think you lack what it takes to take up a creative hobby, here is advice from some of the greats:

“Every child is an artist, the problem is staying an artist when you grow up.” – Pablo Picasso

“Have no fear of perfection, you’ll never reach it.” – Salvador Dali

“Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try.” – Dr. Seuss

My creative go to has always been writing. I work in corporate communications, so I found a job that incorporates my passion, which is both good and bad. I get to write for business every day. That is good. However, my real passion is writing fiction, and because I spend most of the day writing business communication, I spend less time writing fiction. While I love to write, the process drains me, and it can be the last thing I want to do with my free time.

tree2Therefore, I looked for another outlet to keep me balanced, and turned to photography. I’ve always enjoyed taking photos, and last fall, after upgrading my plain digital camera to a Cannon Powershot, I grew to enjoy it even more. I’m not a professional, I have no experience, and sometimes my photos are blurry. However, it’s not about how good or bad they are; it’s about the creative process. Occasionally, I get lucky with a shot like the one on the left.

I also enjoy painting, a newly discovered creative outlet for me. The revelation came as a shock because I had no prior experience, and limited artistic ability. About a year ago, I visited one of those chain studios that turns ordinary people into seasoned artists, and it changed my perspective. I learned about mixing colors, and various paint stroke styles, and thoroughly enjoyed watching a piece of artwork develop as I progressed.noname

I had a difficult time at first, but with the instructor breaking each step down systematically, my first painting turned out better than I had expected when I first sat down in front of that scary blank canvass. As I writer, I know the pressure of the blank page; for an artist, it must be the same. It was fun to glance around the room and see how different everyone’s outcome was considering we all followed the same instructions. That is the beauty of art.

To the right is something I painted last Saturday at the studio during my fifth visit. It’s a very loose interpretation of Monet’s Water Lilies, and it has many flaws, but I think it’s beautiful.

While writing will always make me happy, photography and painting is a close second and third. It’s interesting that since I’ve incorporated them into my free time, I have more desire to write.

 

6 thoughts on “What is your creative outlet?

  1. Good blog and you are very creative! Not me, though. After reading this, I am now struggling to define my creative outlet. I think right now I don’t have time to pursue such a thing. Maybe someday when I have time I will enjoy cooking as my creative outlet. We’ll see.

  2. I love cooking as well. And, it definitely is creative. The only problem is it is consumed. You can’t keep it or hang it up on the wall and admire it. Or, read it again. It needs to be constantly recreated.

    • Interesting point, Linda. I’ll bet people benefit and enjoy cooking more than any other creative outlet. So it’s creative and practical.

Leave a Reply

