The reincarnation of Boxerjam?

downloadJuly 11, 2014 – In February, I stumbled upon the sad news that my favorite online game site, Boxerjam, had shut down. I bewailed my disappointment on this blog and fellow fans reached out to share their stories with me. They would also miss the games they came to know and love, especially the site favorite, “Strike a Match”.

One reader who commented was on the team instrumental for bringing Boxerjam to life. Candisse Reynolds shared this news:

“The creators of the games on Boxerjam have started anew and are developing mobile application games for phones and tablets. We have just launched our first offering ‘Move Your Vowels’. It is available on both iTunes and Google Play. We also have a little game called ‘Piki Paka’ on our website.”

You can find the new website at http://www.jamandcandy.com.

Jam and Candy is a partnership between Julann Griffin, Maureen Roberts, and Candisse Reynolds. Their combined experience spans every aspect of media and entertainment. The three partners also made up the J-A-M in Boxerjam, and their new endeavor is cleverly named in a similar fashion keeping the Jam (the first initials of Julann and Maureen, I’m assuming), and adding the Candy (a shorted version of the name Candisse).

The look and feel of the site gives off a similar vibe of the old Boxerjam site, but the only game available on the site didn’t hold my interest, and I kept thinking there had to be more than blowing up a balloon without trying to pop it. “Move Your Vowels” looks like it could have potential, but my “older” eyes don’t allow me to enjoy games on my iphone; I’d rather play on the website. With more games promised soon, I’ll check back on occasion to see what turns up. This talented team struck gold before with Boxerjam, so I believe they can do it again.

Another reader recently commented that it looks like “Strike a Match” is on its way back. I couldn’t find confirmation of this, and fear they may have found an old site with outdated information. Although, we can hope that Jam and Candy can replicate it.

Check out their new site and let me know what you think.

69 thoughts on “The reincarnation of Boxerjam?

  1. I too would prefer to have the option of playing on my desktop computer instead of my phone. I don’t have a tablet yet. I miss Strike a Match, Know it All, and Mindstein the most! bring them back, please!

    • I agree. I don’t own an iPhone (I know, I know), but even if I did, I would much prefer to play on my desktop. Strike a Match was a great brain game and so much fun. PLEAAAASSSSE bring it back! PLEASE

      • i was finally able to purchase a laptop, i am disabled so it took me a long time to get one. i was so excited because that meant that i could once again play my FAVORITE game Strike a Match only to find out that it is no longer available. i REALLY hope that it is brought back.
        😦

    • Anything that is great and that everybody likes, they have to get rid of — WHY!!!—bring SAM back IDIOTS!!!!!—-we love it____we miss it____we want it!!!!!!!!!

      • Jam and Candy has answered the call for bringing Strike a Match back. Kissin Kuzzins is exactly what everyone has been asking for. The only thing that is different is the name and the look. It is currently available on iTunes, Google Play, Amazon and as a limited version on the web. https://www.jamandcandy.com/kissin-kuzzins/ We are currently completing some new features that will allow you to purchase more gamepacks for the web version as well as the ability to play all of your gamepacks on all devices including your desktop. You will also be able to track high scores much like the old website. Again, building games and infrastructure takes smart talented people, time and a substantial amount of money. We are self financed and are counting on Kissin Kuzzins to bring in enough money for more features.
        So please go play and enjoy.

    • Me too, it was fun with my family sitting around playing Boxerjam’s especially Strike a Match – so much fun to interact with online players too! Don’t like those kinds on a Tablet or iPhone, too small of a venue, so much better on a desktop…

  2. I just want to let people know that I will go after Jam and Candy, Candisse Rerynolds, Maureen Roberts & Julann Griffin personally because they refused to pay the work I’ve did for them in finishing Move Your Vowels. Candisse refused to honor the contract she signed with the agreements of Maureen Roberts & Julann Griffin.

    This is an International Commercial Dispute

  3. WOW, Thank you for responding to my comment,usually people do not get responses. I sure hope that they can at least get something pretty close to it, I miss playing it, i would stay up for hours playing it not even realizing that it was 3,4 or even,5:00 a.m.
    it was so addicting and i would always think ” I will just play one more ” until i could not keep my eyes open anymore. LOL

  4. I have a smart phone and a tablet, but I am so much more comfortable on my laptop where I have the option to print and use other applications. I haven’t played Boxerjam games in a while, but I started playing about 10 or more years ago and loved the games it offered. This is sad news and I hate that it has made the transference over to mobile media only.

  5. Why is there still no Strike a Match? How can bringing the game back be an insurmountable problem? It was fun!! Really fun!!!! Can the people who enjoyed it so much do anything to help GET IT BACK?
    Sheesh!

  6. I too soooooooooooo miss Strike A Match, not only the game but the friendly people I played. I went through withdrawals for months. I played for at least 10 years in the morning. Miss you all, Miss the game. PLEASE work on the new one Candy and Jam. Oh and I too prefer my desktop,this old timer cant handle little screens of little devices. Still searching for the Strike a Match replacement………

  7. Alas, we will be building our games for mobile devices for the time being but do not fret we are working on a way to get them to your pc’s. All of this takes time so please be patient with us.

    • Thanks for checking in Llbster. As you can see the owners of Boxerjam do check in on occasion and are doing their best to please everyone with their new site.

  8. Thanks for the response. Could we expect strike a match as part of the game series Candy and Jam are working on? Can hardly wait! Holding my tears at bay;)

  9. Good news, Jam and Candy will soon be launching another game “Comprende-U”. Another improvement coming your way will be the ability to play our games on Facebook and from our website. We also have another game in the works that I am SURE you all will love. Stay tuned.

  10. We have a new offering on iTunes, Google Play and Amazon to play on all of the respective mobile devices. “Comprende U” is the name and it will test your trivia knowledge as well as offer something a little different. Its a fun and interesting game. We are very excited about it. But the game we are well into development on is in the line of what everyone is requesting. It is called “Kissin Kuzzins”. It will be offered on all of the mobile devices that we currently accomodate and will be on Facebook. We look to have that available in December. It will not disappoint. Promise 🙂

  11. PLease bring back SAM. How did it get there in the first place. Certainly the technology exists. What gives? I would pay to play.

  12. Pingback: 1000 on the Fifth | janeMcMaster

  13. Ok people….its 2016!! No way of getting Strike A Match or Out of Order running again? Missing it for a long time now!

  14. Pingback: A new take on an old favorite | janeMcMaster

  15. I wish all the boxerjam games could return to desktop. The best games are gone and it’s frustrating when you’re really into playing these games.

      • Jam and Candy has been working hard to bring back what we can. Kissin Kuzzins is on our web site now in a limited version. We are in the process of completing the web and Facebook versions.
        Please be patient. These games do not come without great expense and time. We will, however, be reliant on Kissin Kuzzins success for further development as we have exhausted our personal funds.

  16. Bring back STRIKE A MATCH!!!!!! I will settle for no clone of it….Please bring back the original…What’s so difficult anyway? Please email me when you do, thank you so much!

  17. Kissin Kuzzins??—–WTF!!!!—-Bring back StrikeaMatch—what the heck is so hard about bringing it back?????? WE WANT SAM back!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. Jam and Candy has answered the call for bringing Strike a Match back. Kissin Kuzzins is exactly what everyone has been asking for. The only thing that is different is the name and the look. It is currently available on iTunes, Google Play, Amazon and as a limited version on the web. https://www.jamandcandy.com/kissin-kuzzins/ We are currently completing some new features that will allow you to purchase more gamepacks for the web version as well as the ability to play all of your gamepacks on all devices including your desktop. You will also be able to track high scores much like the old website. Again, building games and infrastructure takes smart talented people, time and a substantial amount of money. We are self financed and are counting on Kissin Kuzzins to bring in enough money for more features.
    So please go play and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

