Fictional Intruder: How I’d like to spend my summer vacation

imagesJuly 18, 2014 – It’s the height of vacation season, and perhaps the best time to entertain the WordPress Daily Prompt that asks bloggers this question: If you could choose three fictional events or adventures to experience yourself, what would they be?

I enjoy reading fiction, but gravitate to mainstream, and not action, adventure, or fantasy, so this question used a few brain cells. Coming up with great novels is easy. Three of my favorites include “She’s Come Undone” by Wally Lamb, “White Oleander” by Janet Fitch, and “The Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood” by Rebecca Wells. However, I may not be strong enough to be a character in any of these stories, and endure what they did to entertain me, so I came up with a few lighter choices:

A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
This Dickens’ novel is one of those perfect stories because it’s full holiday spirit, forgiveness, and second chances. The characters are richly developed, and although I can’t actually relate to any one in particular, I’d like to be a fly on the wall who tags along with Scrooge as he embarks on his Christmas Eve journey. I’d be  a better lurker than participant in 19th century London, anyway.

Still Life with Woodpecker – Tom Robbins
As the description on the book jacket states, “This is sort of a love story that takes place inside a pack of Camel cigarettes.” In reality, the story ponders the big question: “How do you make love stay?” I would love to be a character in the wacky world of any Robbins novel, but this one has my heart because it is how I discovered him, and because of characters like heroine Leigh-Cheri (her idol is Ralph Nader), and hero Bernard Mickey Wrangle (who isn’t a criminal, but rather an outlaw). What an entertaining way to spend a summer vacation.

Anne of Green Gables – L.M. Montgomery
The Anne Shirley series of stories by L.M. Montgomery is one of my favorites, and I have always wanted to visit Prince Edward Island in Canada, so the combination of the two would be perfect. Anne could show me around Avonlea and the rest of the Island, introduce me to her adoptive family, and allow me to take in what life was like at the turn of the 20th century on their quaint island town. I’d bet the weather would be perfect.

Leave a Reply

