The summer of lunar events

September 10, 2014Supermoon. It’s a new term I learned this summer, and a lunar event that gave me my first success with moon shots.

The summer of 2014 gave us three of these amazing moons, in July, August, and September. They are supermoons because they are bigger, brighter, and closer to the earth than a typical full moon.

The first supermoon occurred on Saturday, July 12. Driving home from my aunt’s birthday party about 8:30 that evening, we witnessed a spectacular moon that was closer than I had ever noticed before. When I got home, I went right to the Internet and discovered that this particular moon was a supermoon.

I regret not pulling over and taking a photo of that first supermoon. However, I was ready for the next two. This shot, taken about 9 p.m. on Sunday, August 10, happened before the moon was too far away.

3

Monday’s supermoon, on September 8 was shot a little later, about 10 p.m. My close up isn’t as vibrant as the August shot, but the glow around the moon adds a nice touch. Monday’s moon was also 2014’s harvest moon, the full moon closest to the autumnal equinox.

IMG_1633

2 thoughts on “The summer of lunar events

Leave a Reply

