The big change that comes with autumn 2014

imagesSeptember 22, 2014 – Autumn arrives today, the ideal season that takes us from the September equinox to the December solstice here in the northern hemisphere.

I am a late autumn baby, I adore the season, and I believe it to be the most pleasant of the four. I always thought I was lucky to share my birthday with such delightful autumn holidays as Halloween and Thanksgiving.

This year in particular the start of autumn makes me aware that another birthday is looming. This is a big one, folks. Huge, in fact,  because I turn 55 in early December.

Sure, people consider the new decade birthdays as the biggies. I’ve participated in numerous birthday parties celebrating 30, 40, 50, etc. However, 55 is crucial because whenever I take a survey from December 9, 2014 on, I will no longer check the 45-54 age group. Instead, I’ll have graduated to the 55-64 age group, and will remain there for the next nine years until I reach the final group in the survey world, the 65+ group. Yikes!

It may seem silly and rather vain, but I’ve pondered this event for a few years now, knowing that 55 was coming fast. Once I check the 55-64 box, the person reading the survey could actually think I’m 64, and not the young, vibrant 55 I like to think I am.

Still, If you equate the seasons with stages of life, I’m right smack in the autumn of my days. And like the season, one that is filled with pumpkin lattes, spiced wafers, and perfect weather, that’s gotta be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

