The downside of being linked in

16d5bbfMarch 15, 2015 – Dear LinkedIn:

I realize that as a professional networking tool whose purpose is to help people like me locate and establish business contacts, you thrive on recommending people to add to my social network.

Normally, I appreciate your recommendations, and have taken advantage of some of your suggestions. However, lately, I have found you a bit insensitive. The last few times I signed on, your suggestions consisted of people who I’ve interviewed with over the past several years and didn’t hire me. So, you’re recommending people who have rejected me. Nice.

At first I was puzzled by how you connected us, the same way a waitress may be puzzled by a customer who calls her by name, only to realize that she is wearing a name tag. In my case, the recipient of my resume most likely searched for me on your network when they wanted to learn more about me. I likely did the same when they called me to schedule an interview. Now, we are forever linked in cyberspace thanks to your algorithmic methods, even though we will have no need to contact each other again.

Perhaps your algorithm should consider that if I looked up a profile two years ago and didn’t link with them then, I’m not interested.

Sincerely,

Jane McMaster

Leave a Reply

