Ready, Set, Na NO!

download (1)November 1, 2015 – NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month begins today.

I’m exercising the NO in NaNoWriMo this year. I’m not even going to fool myself and sign up to participate as I have in years past.

In case you don’t know, NaNoWriMo is a unique way to approach writing a novel. Authors sign up on the website and agree to write 50,000 words or more by 11:59:59 on November 30.

The exercise isn’t about finishing an edited masterpiece in a month. For most of us that would be impossible. It’s about achieving quantity over quality, lowering your expectations, taking risks and ultimately becoming a better writer.

Sounds a bit crazy, I know, but the method works for some writers. Here’s a list of books published based on NaNoWriMo successes.

For me, writing is a joy, not a stressful task that pushes my limits. I’m funny that way.

Leave a Reply

