Dear Facebook Friend:

political humorMarch 18, 2016 – I’m not sure I can make it through the 2016 presidential election without deleting you from my friends’ list. You may not think it’s a big deal to be deleted, but I do. Once the election is over, I will miss you!

Perhaps you believe you are doing civic duty by spewing forth your political opinions on Facebook, hoping to change the error of my ways and  set me on the right path. However, it’s impolite to bombard me with your opinions and then react like a spoiled child if I disagree with you.

Everyone is entitled to his or her opinion. I respect yours, even though I may not agree with it. I’m proud to live in a country with freedom of speech, and I enjoy a good political debate now and then. However, when you post your opinions and then defend them with negativity, it’s TOO much. Everyone on your friends’ list knows how you feel by now, and you’ve turned my guilty pleasure of social media lurking into a negative experience.

Politics is an ugly business, and one with results that only about half of us are happy with at any given time. It works that way. In my opinion, the better candidate doesn’t always win, but we usually get the one we deserve – not necessarily the one we need!

Let’s forego the political labels we love to pin on ourselves and show respect to each other, even when we disagree. It’s what divides us and makes us intolerant. I don’t think we can afford any more of that right now.

Sincerely,

Your Facebook friend, Jane

2 thoughts on “Dear Facebook Friend:

Leave a Reply

