Celebrating the written word

image description

October 14, 2011 – Next Thursday, October 20, is The National Day on Writing, and this year, it won’t pass me by without a celebration.

Selecting a day to honor writing began as a project by the National Council of English Teachers to encourage people to share why they write. The site also asked writers to tweet why they write, and last year over 60,000 writers participated. Join the conversation on Twitter with #WhyIWrite.

Here are a few responses that caught my eye:

1. “It’s cheaper than a shrink.”
2. “I can’t always say what I want to be heard.”
3. “To retain sanity.”
4. “To become a better person.”
5. “It’s the first thing I was good at.”
6. “There are restless characters clamoring to get out.”
7. “Because I can lie things into existence.”
8. “It comes out a heck of a lot better than when I speak.”
9. “It’s the least destructive addiction I could find.”
10. “Who says I have a choice?”

While I can relate, especially to #8 my answer is simple: it makes me happy.

My biggest fear for the future of writing, and why it’s so important to celebrate a national day like this, is that social media has turned many of us away from proper spelling or grammar. Aside from the occasional LOL, I’m not even able to use shortcuts or dominating abbreviations. I follow a simple rule when writing anything, from an email or text, a short story, or a speech for the CEO where I work: anyone who puts pen to paper or fingers to keyboard should care about the outcome.

Thank you to all of the writers who have fulfilled me, shocked me, made me laugh and cry, and thoroughly entertained me through the years.

2 thoughts on “Celebrating the written word

Leave a Reply

